Town of Tonawanda Animal Control is responsible for:
Dog Licensing, Leash and Pooper Scooper laws
All dogs in New York State, four months and older, are required to be licensed in accordance with the New York State Agriculture and Markets Law. All dogs and cats are required by New York State Public Health Law to be vaccinated for rabies. Proof of a current, valid rabies vaccination is required in order to obtain a dog license. Link to License and Fees
It is unlawful for a dog to be unleashed off of the owners premises in the Town of Tonawanda and Village of Kenmore. This includes all parks and recreation areas, unless otherwise indicated. The fines for this offense ranges from $25 to $250.
It shall be the duty of every dog owner or person having possession, custody or control of a dog to remove any feces left by said dog on any public property owner by The Town of Tonawanda and the Village of Kenmore, and deposit it in a container lawfully used for the disposal of refuse.
For more information about New York State animal law, follow this link http://users.hancock.net/lennyesq/Animallaw.pdf
Rabies and Wild Animals
Rabies is found in warm-blooded animals, frequently in raccoons, foxes, skunks and bats. All warm-blooded animal bites are considered for possible exposure to the rabies virus. For this reason, it has been mandated by the New York State Public Health Law that every animal bite be reported to the local health department. A bite by any animal should be thoroughly cleansed with soap and water as soon as possible, and medical attention should be sought immediately. The biting animal must be captured if it is a stray cat, dog or wild animal.
If your pet fights with a known or suspected rabid animal, the rabies virus in that animal's saliva may remain alive on the pet's skin or in its mouth for up to three hours. If it is necessary to handle the pet during this period, wear gloves. Wash the pet with soap and water. Call the Erie County Health Department at (716) 874-1070.
Dog License Application
Download a copy of the pdf Dog License Application (102 KB) here.
Renew online HERE (link to http://dogs.basgov.com/Dogs/Search?munirecid=48)
*A late fee of $5.00 will be assessed if you renew your dog’s license after the last day of the month that it is due *An additional $2.00 late fee will be assessed for each month after the first delinquent month, until it is paid in full for the current year. Example: License renewal is due November 30, 2017 and is paid February 13, 2018 – The late fee that is assessed is $9.00, broken down as follows: $5.00 (December) + $2.00 (January) + $2.00 (February) = $9.00
Please remember to contact the Town Clerk’s office at 877-8800 to update your dog’s file if you move, if your dog dies, or if you relinquish your dog to someone else.
All Dawgs Academy (Mon- Fri 7am to 6pm) 743-0988
1st Day: $45, plus an additional $10 one-time impoundment fee. The impoundment fee increases to $30 for any subsequent impounds.
2nd - 5th Day: $30/day
We advise calling All Dawgs Academy prior to making the trip in order to assure you have all the necessary documents to pick up your dog